Singapore, So Fresh and Green Green

Singapore, I barely even scratched your surface. And O.M.G.Love. I will be back.

After saying goodbye to Maggie, I headed to Krabi, Thailand, but first had a stop over in Singapore. This was my first time in a modern city in nearly 3 months and it was great.

Singapore is known as a garden city, but has visions to be, “ A City in a Garden”. It pretty much is just that, green, fresh, and so clean.

As usual, I did very little planning for this day in Singapore, but on a recommendation I went to Gardens by the Bay and the hotel roof top bar at Marina Bay Sands. Gardens by the Bay was huge and gorgeous. I spend hours wandering. Finally, I made my way to the hotel wearing my Chacos and a backpack. I didn’t realize this was a high end rooftop bar. Regardless, I was allowed in and found the cheapest thing on the menu, a $15 (USD) beer. Even for American prices that is outrageous for some mid-level hops.

After my one beer, I continued my urban hike and stumbled into Spectra-A Light and Water Show. This was a magical coordination of water, lights, and music. Pretty rad.

To offset my beverage spending, I opted to stay in a pod. Like one of those pod hotels, where you are basically assigned a box in a wall with a twin mattress and a light switch. Yup, one of those. Although tiny, I highly recommend the experience to anyone even remotely considering it. It was unique.

Singapore, see you later alligator 😉

 

Leave a comment